Cancer support centre wins People’s Choice Timber Design Award


Design attracts ‘strong emotional response’

New Plymouth architects Boon Goldsmith Bhaskar Brebner have scooped the popular People’s Choice Award at the 2009 Timber Design Awards in Auckland.


Architect Mularli Bhaskar’s brief for the new TSB Cancer Centre was to design a “happy building” to help alleviate some of the trauma experienced by its users.


“The use of colour, vinyl, innovative graphics/signage and carefully chosen materials has enabled us to achieve an environmentally-sustainable design solution which the clients and community have embraced with open arms,” Mr Bhaskar says.


The centre’s purpose and design tugged the heartstrings, netting more votes than any other entry in the lead-up to the awards.


Overall, the People’s Choice Award attracted more than 700 online votes. Announcing the award, Geoff Henley of sponsor NZ Wood, said: “A particular design sometimes attracts a strong emotional response from people. This is one of those times.”


The awards recognise and encourage excellence in building design, engineering and construction using New Zealand timber. They are sponsored by NZ Wood in association with Carter Holt Harvey Wood Products, Timber Design Society and McIntosh Timber Laminates.


The 2009 category winners were:

Sustainability Award

Winner: Writer’s Residence, Art+Architecture Ltd, Paul Kerr-Hislop

Highly commended: Little Earth Montessori Preschool, Don Jamieson Architecture Ltd, Lars Stannard


Outdoor Infrastructure Award

Winner: The Yellow Treehouse Restaurant, Pacific Environments Architects

Highly commended: Oriental Bay Urban Design, Architecture Workshop


Cladding Building Envelope

Winner: Leigh Marine Centre Bunkhouse, Goat Island, Cheshire Architects: Pip Cheshire, Andrew Barrie, Sean Flanagan, Nat Cheshire, DJ Tai, Brett Todd

Highly commended: House at Rotokauri, Antanas Procuta Architects Ltd


Interior Fit Out

Winner: NZI Centre, Jasmax: Antonia Walmsley, Valentina Machina, Stephanie Nathan, Nick Moyes

Highly commended: Owhanake Bay House, Strachan Group Architects (SGA), Dave Strachan Architect
Residential Architectural Excellence

Winner: Great Barrier Island House, Crosson Clarke Carnachan Architects Auckland Ltd, Paul Clarke

Highly commended: Thorne Bay House, Pete Bossley Architects


Residential Engineering Excellence

Winner: Kapiti Coast House, Tetrad Design Group Ltd

Highly commended: Box Living — House at Domain Crescent, Box Living: Tim Dorrington, Dan Heyworth, Nat Holloway, Nat Jakich


Commercial Architectural Excellence

Winner: Saxton Stadium, Aurecon, Arrow International and Sheppard & Rout


Commercial Engineering Excellence

Winner: Diocesan School for Girls Aquatic Centre, McIldowie Partners in association with Upton Architects Ltd and Structure Design Ltd

Highly commended: Nelson Pine Factory — LVL Box Beams, Robin Frengley Consulting Engineer Ltd


Details of all the winning entries can be viewed at

Previous articleThe importance of explanation notices with payment claims
Next articleDoL: Construction industry set for upswing after difficult period