Entries open for Concrete Sustainability Awards


The Cement and Concrete Association of New Zealand (CCANZ)-sponsored 2010 Concrete3 Sustainability Awards are open to anyone involved in the construction industry — from architects, designers and engineers to contractors and clients.

CCANZ chief executive Rob Gaimster says the awards are a chance to recognise those who are leading the way in embracing sustainable practices, and for interested parties to learn from each other to ensure the industry, as a whole, continues to operate in the most responsible manner possible.
“True sustainability requires the consideration of not only environmental factors, but also the potential economic and social impacts of each project, he says.”

There are five categories this year, from which a supreme winner will be selected, after the 2009 awards attracted a strong and diverse array of entries. The categories are:
• Excellence in Residential Concrete Construction,
• Excellence in Commercial Concrete Construction,
• Excellence in Civil Concrete Construction,
• Excellence in Concrete Innovation, and
• Excellence in Concrete for the Community.

“Examples of sustainability come in all shapes and sizes, from the smallest residential job to a multi-million dollar civil project,” he says.
The 2009 supreme Award was accepted by URS Corporation New Zealand on behalf of the Northern Gateway Alliance, responsible for extending State Highway One from Orewa to Puhoi.
Mr Gaimster says the project stood out as each aspect, from its inception to completion, paid attention to matters of sustainability.
URS spokesperson Amanda Harrison says it was rewarding to see their efforts to embrace sustainable practices acknowledged by their peers.

2010 Awards entries will be judged on any of the following criteria:
• lean production and less waste,
• managing natural resources,
• minimising energy use,
• protecting against pollution,
• respect for people, and
• setting performance targets.

Entries remain open until Friday, 3 September, 2010. Entry information and forms can be found at www.sustainableconcrete.org.nz.
The winner will be announced at a presentation at the New Zealand Concrete Conference in October 2010 in Wellington.

Previous articleNelson’s glazier apprentice tops the country
Next articleThe Building Act review: What we think