New appointments in Auckland


Michael Lieshout was recently elected to lead the Auckland Branch of the Registered Master Builders Association for the next two years.

Former president Kieran Mallon stepped down after his two years of service in the role, and has offered to stay on the Board to lend his experience of the current Association restructure.

Mr Lieshout says his leadership and commitment to the restructure, and his assistance in getting other Associations across the line, has not gone unnoticed.

Tony Pexton was elected onto the Auckland Board in place of Tim Arlott, who stepped down last year following his relocation to Tauranga.

Mr Pexton has been extensively involved with the North Harbour sub-Branch over the past few years. He is currently judging entries in the House of the Year, a competition that his company has won multiple awards in.

“Tony is passionate about Master Builders, and we welcome him to the Auckland Board. I believe that Tony’s input to the Board will be invaluable in the coming years,” Mr Lieshout says.

Meanwhile, Waiheke Island has been awarded Auckland region sub-Branch status. After putting in a great deal of work recruiting the required number of members and holding successful meetings, the new sub-Branch will come into being at the start of 2016.

“We would like to thank Kevin O’Grady for his persistence and the time spent organising and promoting this,” Mr Lieshout says.

Mr Grady has agreed to be the inaugural branch chair, and reminds “mainlanders” that they are always welcome at their meetings.

The RMBA also has a new Regional Services Manager. Jennifer Haraki has taken over the Auckland South and Gisborne areas, and is available to members for advice, help and assistance.

Ms Haraki joins the RMBA from the Auckland Council. She has spent a long time in the industry, and has a number of building-related qualifications, including the New Zealand Certificate in Building.

She can be contacted on 027 480 4055, or email

Previous articleNew national sponsor joins Apprentice of the Year
Next articleBRANZ study valuing sustainability