2016 NZIA winners announced



The 2016 New Zealand Architecture Awards were announced at an event in Wellington recently. 

Twenty-eight buildings and structures won honours in the leading architectural awards programme, which recognises the best work across all the types of projects designed by New Zealand’s architects.

The awards jury, led by Christchurch architect Jasper van der Lingen, and comprising Auckland architects Megan Edwards and Michael O’Sullivan, and Melbourne-based architect Andrew Maynard, visited 50 shortlisted buildings from the Bay of Islands to Central Otago.

Four of the winning projects received special acknowledgement in the form of awards named for outstanding New Zealand architects.

The John Scott Award for Public Architecture went to Auckland’s neon-pink LightPath/Canada Street Bridge, designed by Monk MacKenzie together with GHD, Landlab and Novare Design.

The Ted McCoy Award for Education was presented to Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Ngati Kahungununu o Te Wairoa, a small Maori school in Wairoa, designed by RTA Studio.

The Sir Ian Athfield Award for Housing went to Wellington multi-unit development Zavos Corner, designed by Parsonson Architects.

The Sir Miles Warren Award for Commercial Architecture went to Annandale Farm, a group of holiday houses designed by Patterson Associates for a coastal property on Banks Peninsula.

The New Zealand Architecture Awards is a programme operated by the New Zealand Institute of Architects with the support of Resene, which has sponsored the Architecture Awards programme for 25 years.

Other winners were:

Commercial Architecture

Annandale Farm by Patterson Associates (Pidgeon Bay, Annandale, Banks Peninsula)

Aro Ha Retreat by Tennent Brown Architects (Glenorchy, Queenstown)

The APL Factory — “Lifting the Veil” by Jasmax (Te Rapa, Hamilton)



St Cuthbert’s College Centennial Centre for Wellbeing by Architectus and Architecture HDT in association (Epsom, Auckland)

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Ngati Kahungununu o Te Wairoa by RTA Studio (Wairoa)


Enduring Architecture 

New Zealand Settlement Company — Awaroa House by Sir Ian Athfield (Awaroa, Takaka)

St Andrew’s Church (1960) by Hendry and Mitchener (Le Bon’s Bay, Banks Peninsula)



National War Memorial Projects by Studio of Pacific Architecture (Pukeahu National War Memorial Park, Wellington)

Toko Toru Tapu Church by Architects 44 (Manutuke, Gisborne)


Hospitality and Retail

Fortieth & Hurstmere by McKinney + Windeatt Architects (Takapuna, Auckland)



Bramasole by Herbst Architects (Waimauku, Auckland)

E-Type House by RTA Studio (Grey Lynn, Auckland)

Fold House by Bossley Architects (Bay of Islands)

K Valley House by Herbst Architects (Kauaeranga Valley, Coromandel)

Tom’s House by Anna-Marie Chin Architects (Jack’s Point, Queenstown)

The Wanaka House by Lovell and O’Connell Architects (Wanaka)


Housing — Alterations and Additions

Belmont Garden Room by Mitchell & Stout Architects and Rachel Dodd in association (Belmont, Auckland)


Housing – Multi-unit

Mary Potter Apartments by Warren and Mahoney Architects (St Albans, Christchurch)

Zavos Corner by Parsonson Architects (Mount Victoria, Wellington)


Interior Architecture

New Zealand Post House by Jasmax (Wellington CBD)

141 Cambridge Terrace/Lane Neave by Jasmax (Central Christchurch)

Zavos Corner by Parsonson Architects (Mount Victoria, Wellington)


Planning and Urban Design 

LightPath/Canada Street Bridge by Monk Mackenzie with GHD, Novare and LandLAB in association (Central Auckland)


Public Architecture

Christchurch Bus Interchange — Whakawhitinga Pahi by Architectus (Central Christchurch)

Te Pataka Korero o Te Hau Kapua — Devonport Library by Athfield Architects (Devonport, Auckland)


Small Project Architecture

Cardrona Hut by RTA Studio (Central Otago)

Number 5 by Architectus (Waiheke Island, Auckland)

Studio and Garden Room — Peters House by Lynda Simmons – Architect (Sunnyhills, Auckland)

Previous articleJudges thrilled with calibre of Timber Design Award entries
Next articleNew Passport options to be launched