New Zealand Architecture Awards finalists announced


Fifty-one projects have been shortlisted in New Zealand’s leading architecture awards programme. 

The finalists in the New Zealand Architecture Awards are located at sites around the country, from the Bay of Islands to Central Otago, and range from new houses to schools, churches and office buildings.

Twenty-one of the shortlisted projects are in or around Auckland, eight are in Christchurch and seven in Wellington.

Housing is the strongest category in the Awards, with 17 finalists. There are seven finalists in the public architecture and commercial architecture categories, five in the heritage category and four in the education category. Three of the finalists are architecture practices’ own offices.

The convenor of the Awards jury, Arrowtown architect Louise Wright, says the relatively high number of shortlisted projects was testament to a strong year in New Zealand architecture.

“The range and quality of recent architecture projects made it difficult to decide what to leave off the shortlist,” Ms Wright says.

“Auckland architecture is evidently booming, and it’s good to see a stream of strong projects emerging in Christchurch. The jury is also pleased that there are strong award contenders in the public architecture category.”

The winners of this year’s New Zealand Architecture Awards will be announced in Auckland on November 10.

The shortlisted projects are:



South Bloc, Hamilton, by Edwards White Architects

Kauri Timber Building, Auckland, by Fearon Hay Architects

SGA Studio and Workshops, Auckland, by SGA – Strachan Group Architects

133 Molesworth Street, Wellington, by Studio of Pacific Architecture 

Wellington International Airport Ltd Terminal South Extension, by Warren and Mahoney Architects 

Quad 7, Auckland, by Warren and Mahoney Architects 

Mason Bros, Auckland, by Warren and Mahoney Architects 



WelTec School of Construction, Wellington, by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

AUT Mana Hauora (MH) Building, Auckland, by Jasmax

New Law & Management Building, University of Waikato, Hamilton, by Opus Architecture 

Tarawera High School, Kawerau, RTA Studio


Enduring Architecture 

151 Queen Street (1992), Auckland, by Peddle Thorp Aitken

18 Butler Street (1987), Christchurch, by Maurice Mahoney Architect

St Patrick’s College Chapel, Silverstream (1977), Upper Hutt by William Pearson Architect 



Hutt City Council Administration Building Refurbishment, by architecture+

Australis Nathan, Auckland, by Peddle Thorp

The Suter Art Gallery — Te Aratoi o Whakatū, Nelson, by Warren and Mahoney Architects, Jerram Tocker Barron Architects and Ian Bowman Architect and Conservator

Christchurch Arts Centre Clock Tower & Great Hall, by Warren and Mahoney Architects

The Christchurch Club, by Warren and Mahoney Architects



The Kinloch Club, Kinloch, by Patterson Associates

Pukapuka Rd House, Mahurangi, by Belinda George Architects

Hamilton Family Home, Arrowtown, by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture

Town House, Cambridge, by Christopher Beer Architect

Forest House, Auckland, by Fearon Hay Architects

Inland House, Mangawhai, by Gerrad Hall Architects

Matakana House, by Glamuzina Architects and Paterson Architecture Collective in association

Point Chevalier House, Auckland, by Guy Tarrant Architects

Davis House, Auckland, by Mercer and Mercer Architects

Point Wells Gables, by Paterson Architecture Collective, Steven Lloyd Architecture and Glamuzina Architects in association

Fendalton Road House, Christchurch, by Patterson Associates

Paoneone, Bay of Islands, by Patterson Associates

339, Auckland, by SGA – Strachan Group Architects

Millbrook House, Arrowtown, by Sumich Chaplin Architects

Housing — Alterations and Additions

Herne Bay House Alteration, Auckland, by Gerrad Hall Architects

Bach with Two Roofs, Golden Bay, by Irving Smith Architects


Housing — Multi Unit 

Kāinga Tuatahi, Auckland, by Stevens Lawson Architects

Verto Apartments, Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects


Interior Architecture  

Faraday Street Studio, Auckland, by Fearon Hay Architects

Diver Apartment, Christchurch, by MAP (2016)

Peddle Thorp, Auckland, by Peddle Thorp


Planning and Urban Design

Mackelvie Precinct, Auckland, by RTA Studio

BNZ Centre, Christchurch, by Sheppard & Rout Architects


Public Architecture

Lesieli Tonga Auditorium, Auckland, by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture

Christchurch North Methodist Church, by Dalman Architects

Bishop Selwyn Chapel, Auckland, by Fearon Hay Architects

Bullets & Balls (Nelson Cricket and Nelson Rifle Associations Practice Facility), by Irving Smith Architects

St John’s Church, Hamilton, by MOAA Architects

ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland, by Moller Architects and BVN in association

Te Wharehou o Waikaremoana, Lake Waikaremoana, by Tennent+Brown Architects


Small Project Architecture

h01 house, Christchurch, by Maguire and Harford Architects

Waiheke Gateway Pavilion, by Stevens Lawson Architects

Previous articleNational Party construction policy outlined . . .
Next articleG J Gardner tops residential building list