Health and safety champions in running for top awards


The finalists in the annual Site Safe Construction Health and Safety Awards are a broad cross section of excellent safety personnel, innovative ideas and clever inventions designed to look after workers.

The annual awards were created to promote health, safety and well-being in construction by giving national recognition to those making a real difference.

The annual awards acknowledge people, businesses, collaborations and sites that demonstrate excellence in the areas of leadership, innovation and contribution to New Zealand’s construction sector.

This year the judges were particularly pleased to see so many entries from small businesses, showing that there is a wide range of initiatives at the grass roots of the industry.

And while there was plenty of robust discussion about the entries, the judges managed to reach a consensus on the finalists.

A new category was introduced this year for initiatives related to mental health and well-being.

This category attracted a lot of entries from a wide range of individuals and organisations, some of whom may never have considered entering the awards previously.

The judges said they appreciated the heartfelt expressions of personal experience made by many of the entrants, saying the openness and vulnerability entrants were prepared to express gave them hope that the industry is headed in the right direction.

The winners will be announced, and awards presented, at the awards ceremony at Alexandra Park in Auckland on November 6.

For more information on the awards, visit–events/evening-of-celebration. The finalists are:

The Dominion Constructors Safety Innovation Award (small-to-medium organisation up to 50 employees):

Biggins Interior Solutions

BR Concrete Pumping and Placing


The Bettabuilt Safety Innovation Award Large Business (large organisations over 50 employees):

The Fletcher Construction Company Ltd

Icon CO Pty

Schneider Electric NZ Ltd

Spiral Drillers Civil

The Mitre 10 Trade Safety Leadership Award (small, medium or large business):

Acrow Ltd

The Central Lakes Safety Charter

HDL the painting professionals

The Vero Liability Safety Contribution Award (individual or small team):

Auckland Council

Maycroft Construction

Bradley Project Management

The Kalmar Mental Health and Well-being Award (company, organisation, team or individual):

FloorRight Installations Ltd

Switched On Group

Team Cabling

Previous articleBIM challenge to dispel perception of ‘geekiness’
Next articleClearer work programme critical for NZ infrastructure